We're part of Auckland's Viaduct history
The Lula Inn is proudly located in the historic Launchman’s Building in Auckland's Viaduct harbour.
In the 1920s and 30s there were many buildings like this. They were constructed without foundations so they could be moved around the harbour by marine crane. These three were placed on this site in the 1930s and used as a base for launch owners and charter boat operators.
The Launchman’s Buildings were fully restored as part of the New Zealand Maritime Museum project in 1993. Today they are the only remaining buildings of their type and are Heritage listed for their historical significance.
We pay homage to the history of our site and the Maritime Museum has kindly given us access to these photos from its illustrious past, most of which have been taken by iconic New Zealand photographer, Henry Winkelmann.
Citations for the three image credits
Bill Laxon Maritime Library, New Zealand Maritime Museum
- Viaduct to Freeman’s Bay, the three buildings are being joined together and old Hobson Wharf in the foreground in the process of being dismantled, 11 March 1930. Auckland Harbour Board Collection, New Zealand Maritime Museum.
- Launchman’s Buildings taken from Princes Wharf, 1960s. Auckland Harbour Board Collection, New Zealand Maritime Museum
- Launchman’s Buildings at Pt Chevalier in 1992, moved while the Maritime Museum was being constructed on Hobson Wharf. New Zealand Maritime Museum